May 3rd Candidates


Andrea.jpgCatherine.pngD_King_2016.jpg Jo_Hayes_cheerful.jpg Sam.jpg Jess.PNG paul_(2).jpg

We have a ‘boom town’ with growth, vibrancy, new facilities, more jobs and a highly effective Lib Dem led Council.  To keep and build on our successes Vote on May 3rd for your Lib Dem team of many backgrounds and talents, all united in a passion to deliver for the people of Colchester Borough. The elections will see long standing Cllrs and new candidates standing. They deserve your support - they will serve you well - and will appreciate your help.  

Castle: Jo Hayes: Jo Hayes was born in Colchester and went to local schools. She has lived off North Hill in the heart of Castle Ward for 16 years. She previously represented Castle Ward as a Councillor from 2012 to 2016. She is a member of the legal profession and is also a blogger, diarising the evolving story of Brexit. As a councillor, Jo fought for action to tackle air pollution in the area. She backed a proposed community-managed wildlife project at Riverside, helped to seed fund the Waiting Room project in St Botolph's and supported other community projects such as Beacon House. She was also heritage champion.  If elected, Jo will continue working alongside Cllr Nick Barlow to improve Castle Ward for all its residents.

Mile End: David King, will stand for the seat currently held by Dominic Graham.  David’s a Community Councillor and Colchester Chair of Governors. He lives in Mile End, with family nearby and loves the area.  He served in the Senior Civil Service and wants to bring those skills and experiences to help others. With Martin Goss, Phil Coleman and Anne Turrell he has already been helping the local Lib Dem team to ‘make a difference’, to respond to community needs as they arise and to lend a hand.  He will campaign for local Councils to work more closely together, for a ban on non-recyclable plastics, zero tolerance on dog fouling, litter and anti-social behaviour and action on the issues that matter most to the people of Mile End.     

Shrub End: Sam McCarthy will be standing again. Sam McCarthy is a hard working and community focussed campaigner in Shrub End. Raised and educated in the ward, he is very keen on working with young people in the area. Sam runs the Lib Dem litter warriors ensuring the ward is kept clean. Safety is very important to him too. He wants a crack-down on speeding and urgent repairs to roads and pavements. 

Stanway: Jessica Scott-Boutell will stand again for re-election. Jessica is the youngest member of Colchester Borough Council, at 23 years old and has lived in Stanway most of her life.  She attended both Stanway Primary and Stanway Secondary School and went on and completed a degree in Business Management at University of Essex. Jessica was elected in May 2014 and has really enjoyed the opportunity of representing Stanway and speaking out for residents over the past 4 years.  She has been a strong campaigner, helping stop closure of the Children's Centre in Winstree Road.   Jessica is now a Cabinet Member and the Portfolio Holder for Waste and Sustainability. The revised waste strategy, implemented by Jess, has led to recycling increasing to 55% food waste collection increasing to 87% and rubbish going to landfill reducing by a third this year. 

St Annes and St Johns: Paul Smith will stand again for re-election.  Paul has been a valued member of the community for over 40 years, much of that time serving as one of our Councillors. He works closely with Cllrs John Baker, Helen Chuah and Mike Hogg as part of the local Liberal Democrat team, and various community groups such as the St Annes Community Centre Association and Growing in St Johns. He has lead the fight to stop over development of our area and is currently actively opposing developments of the Harwich Road and around Bullock Wood. By re-electing Paul, we will ensure our area has a strong voice in the Council Chamber that works for us and keeps in touch with us all year round.

Newtown: Catherine Spindler will stand for the seat currently held by Annie Feltham. Catherine lives and has family in Newtown and is dedicated to young people, as a Beaver Scout leader, Assistant Cub and Scout leader and a district commissioner for Colchester North Beavers.  Catherine has 10 children and 5 grandchildren but has still managed to fit in work as well as her demanding work with young people.  One of her key priorities will be to help them and their associations and clubs, encouraging them to help those around them, guiding them towards self-belief and understanding.  Catherine is also passionate about plastics pollution, used in everything we have in our daily life she is concerned about the effect on our health and future, and she wants to see Colchester play a leading role in moving towards a ban on non-recyclable plastics.

Wivenhoe: Andrea Luxford-Vaughan will stand.  She has been a member of the Wivenhoe Town council for ten years and has led key campaigns for free school transport, improved train access, curbing excessive housing development and the delivery of more nature focused public amenities.  In addition, she chairs the town council’s planning committee.  Outside of local politics, she is the married mother of two school children, who works from home as an interior designer. Andrea will fight for Wivenhoe’s interests to be fully considered in Colchester decision making, and for her town’s voice to be heard.

Build on Lib Dem led success - Vote for your Liberal Democrat Candidates on May 3rd 

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.